Marlow Sports Club
Marlow Sports Club
Pound Lane, Marlow, SL7 2AE
Phone   01628 483638
Community Charity No. 1139862

Marlow Cricket Club win Julian Cup for first time in 25 years

Posted by on Jul 16, 2014 in Marlow Cricket Club, News | 0 comments

Marlow CC won the Julian Cup for the first time in 25 years, beating firm favourites Burnham CC at Boyne Hill last night.    

Marlow beat Burnham to lift the Julian Cup for the first time in 25 years

Marlow beat Burnham to lift the Julian Cup for the first time in 25 years

With pre-match statistics identifying Burnham CC as almost unbeatable, Marlow went into the final as the clear underdogs.

In a competitive match, Marlow were the team that executed their skills better, batting solidly to amass a 134-6. taking early wickets when it was their turn to bowl and taking excellent catches at crucial times to swing the match their way.

After the loss of two early wickets, Marlow got into their stride through Pete Dickerson’s 34. He took the score on to 64, but three wickets for four runs left the innings balancing on a tightrope at 80-6 after 14 overs.

However, with some decisive batting Jeremy Batty (32 not out) and Tom Hampton (24 not out) swung it Marlow’s way with an unbeaten stand of 54.

Burnham’s reply was in trouble almost immediately, as a Batty wicket and a run out left them tottering on 5-2.

Batty (2-16) and Hampton (2-10) kept up the pressure as Burnahm slid to 25-5, and regular wickets from Cameron Denton (2-28) and Mark Dozell (2-26) meant Burnham couldn’t develop a single meaningful partnership.

Wicket keeper Simon Carter also claimed two excellent stumpings and a steepling catch before Hampton returned to take the final wicket to leave Burnham stranded on 105.

The Maidenhead Advertiser man of the match went to Marlow’s Tom Hampton and Chris and Jenny Dozell picked up the Chairman Trophy for services to the Julian Cup.

Scores: Marlow 134-6 in 20 overs (Graeme Paskins 7 retired Julian Rule, Pete Dickenson 34, Jeremy Batty 32no, Tom Hampton 24 not out); Burnham 102 all out in 19.3 overs (Adnan Ali 27no, Mohammed Ahmed 21, Shaid Nadeem 16, Adnan Malik 10).

Marlow won by 32 runs.

Bucks Free Press

Maidenhead Advertiser